Fellowship Award Update

The AANS/CNS Section on Tumors takes great pride in supporting and encouraging young investigators to innovate the field of neuro-oncology with bench research.

In 2018, the AANS/CNS Section on Tumor started a new research fellowship award in collaboration with the NREF: the Andy T. Parsa Research Fellowship Award. This is given to the top scoring research grant or young investigator research proposal on brain tumors submitted to the NREF along with a $50,000 annual grant.

Additionally, in collaboration with the NREF, our section continues to award a $40,000 AANS/CNS Section on Tumors Research Grant or Young Investigator Award to a research proposal on brain tumors submitted to the NREF. The 2019 NREF Brain Tumor Research Award is given to Farshad Nassiri, MD, with the research project “Establishing the prognostic implications of heterogeneity in meningioma using single-cell sequencing,” sponsored by Gelareh Zadeh, MD, PhD, FAANS.

A third research fellowship award of $50,000 is given each year by B*CURED in collaboration with the NREF. The 2019 B*CURED Award recipient is Christina Jackson, MD, with a research project entitled, “The changing neoantigen landscape and associated immune response during immune checkpoint blockade in recurrent glioblastoma: a pathway to personalized tumor immunotherapy,” sponsored by Drew Pardoll, MD.

The AANS/CNS Section on Tumors is grateful to its members who dedicate time and effort to review the NREF applications.

We strongly encourage Tumor Section members to apply for 2020! Applications will be available on September 1, 2019, with a submission deadline of November 1, 2019.