Young Neurosurgeons Reception – CNS 2018

2018 CNS Program Co-chairs Seunggu Han and Gordon Li (left), Nelson Oyesiku (middle), Tumor Section Chair Manish Aghi (right) and Young Neurosurgeon Chair Walavan Sivakumar (Right)

Houston – Nelson Oyesiku, MD, PhD, FAANS, professor at Emory University and past president of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), was the honored guest at the AANS/CNS Section on Tumors Young Neurosurgeons Reception, co-hosted by the Young Neurosurgeons Committee, at the CNS Annual Meeting on October 6, 2018.

Internationally recognized pituitary neurosurgeon and Editor-In-Chief of Neurosurgery Dr. Oyesiku addressed over 70 young neurosurgeons and shared with them his recommendations for developing a successful academic practice. Using his progression through training as a framework, he expounded on the importance of active focus in developing a productive research career. The desire to pursue research as a strong portion of one’s career begins with establishing a research mentor and seeking focused research training early. While some potential trainees do not consider research capacity when selecting a residency, a well-established academic culture of research (moral, financial and infrastructure support as well as a preponderance of potential collaborators) is paramount. For young neurosurgeons, negotiations over research time and knowing your university’s promotion criteria allows you to develop a five-year plan that will guide your focus and establish your goals. Young neurosurgeon career development involves writing grants, developing into a faculty member who students and collaborators feel supported by and want to work with as well as supporting your department through active involvement in student research and national committees. Additionally, while a complex relationship with possible pitfalls, strategic and appropriate partnerships with industry can be advantageous in supporting research endeavors.

The AANS/CNS Section on Tumors and the Young Neurosurgeons Committee are pleased to announce that the honored guest for the Young Neurosurgeons Reception at the 2019 AANS Annual Scientific Meeting (Tuesday, April 16, 6:15-8:15 pm) will be Professor of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, Ganesh Rao, MD, FAANS.

*Walavan Sivakumar, MD, will be stepping down as Young Neurosurgeons chair. Dr. Frank Attenello, MD, assistant professor of neurosurgery at the University of Southern California, will be taking over.